You are here

Nutshell (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Nutshell Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

I have recommended Ian McEwan books in the past as I love his writing style (smart and alluring) and this, his latest novel, blew me away—it is brilliant! Written through the voice of a fetus, McEwan has mastered a contemporary retelling of Hamlet! Wicked and genius, Nutshell gives us yet another example of why McEwan is one of the greatest writers of our times. Treat yourself to this short, expertly written novel. You won’t regret it! Can a society like this actually exist in our country! Why does the United States allow them to govern under their own rules of law? Their belief in the right to have multiple wives is so extreme that they will kill and die to uphold it. Amazing and scary. I highly recommend!


— From Kathy

In interesting take on Shakespeare’s Hamlet, where the crown Prince of Denmark is actually an unborn baby who overhears his mother’s plot to kill his father. A unique stream of consciousness that draws you further in with every turn of the page. Only a master wordsmith like McEwen could create such a weird story that you somehow can’t put down.

— From Stephanie


New from the bestselling author of Atonement and The Children Act

Trudy has betrayed her husband, John. She's still in the marital home--a dilapidated, priceless London townhouse--but John's not there. Instead, she's with his brother, the profoundly banal Claude, and the two of them have a plan. But there is a witness to their plot: the inquisitive, nine-month-old resident of Trudy's womb.

Told from a perspective unlike any other, Nutshell is a classic tale of murder and deceit from one of the world's master storytellers.

About the Author

Ian McEwan is the bestselling author of sixteen books, including the novels The Children Act; Sweet Tooth; Solar, winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize; On Chesil Beach; Saturday; Atonement, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award and the W. H. Smith Literary Award; The Comfort of Strangers and Black Dogs, both short-listed for the Booker Prize; Amsterdam, winner of the Booker Prize; and The Child in Time, winner of the Whitbread Award; as well as the story collections First Love, Last Rites, winner of the Somerset Maugham Award, and In Between the Sheets.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385542074
ISBN-10: 0385542070
Publisher: Nan A. Talese
Publication Date: September 13th, 2016
Pages: 208
Language: English