You are here

The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan Cover Image
By Sherry Thomas, Christina Chung (Illustrator)
$19.95
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jul 8 5:15am
(Young Adult)

Staff Reviews


Sherry Thomas once again proves her talent for creating unconventional historical heroines in this retelling of the ballad of Mulan. Trained as a warrior in preparation to fight the duel that is her family's legacy, Mulan joins the army as a man when China is threatened by an Rouran invasion from the North. Her martial arts skills gain her admittance to an elite spy team led by a princeling, but when she discovers her family has been keeping secrets about the duel and opposing family, she starts to question her choices. Lots of action and excellent details make this the perfect read for fans of adventure and historical fiction.

— From Cecilia

Description


Bestselling writer Sherry Thomas weaves an enthralling #ownvoices retelling of a story that has thrilled readers for centuries: the ballad of Mulan.

CHINA, 484 A.D.

A Warrior in Disguise
All her life, Mulan has trained for one purpose: to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight. If she prevails, she can reunite a pair of priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier, and avenge her father, who was paralyzed in his own duel.

Then a messenger from the Emperor arrives, demanding that all families send one soldier to fight the Rouran invaders in the north. Mulan's father cannot go. Her brother is just a child. So she ties up her hair, takes up her sword, and joins the army as a man.

A War for a Dynasty
Thanks to her martial arts skills, Mulan is chosen for an elite team under the command of the princeling--the royal duke's son, who is also the handsomest man she's ever seen. But the princeling has secrets of his own, which explode into Mulan's life and shake up everything she knows. As they cross the Great Wall to face the enemy beyond, Mulan and the princeling must find a way to unwind their past, unmask a traitor, and uncover the plans for the Rouran invasion . . . before it's too late.

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore--a thrilling, romantic, and sharp-edged novel that lives up to its beloved heroine.

About the Author


SHERRY THOMAS is the author of nineteen novels across multiple genres, including the acclaimed Lady Sherlock mystery series, a YA fantasy trilogy that began with The Burning Sky, and more than a dozen romance novels, which have twice won her the Romance Writers of America's prestigious RITA(R) Award. Born in China, she learned English as a second language, and now lives and writes in Austin, Texas. Please visit her website at www.sherrythomas.com and follow her on Twitter at @sherrythomas and on Instagram as @writersherrythomas.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781620148044
ISBN-10: 1620148048
Publisher: Tu Books
Publication Date: September 10th, 2019
Pages: 352
Language: English