You are here

Cecilia

Cecila's Staff Picks
Staff Pick Badge
Snapdragon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250171115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

A fabulous new graphic novel about magic, family and friendship. I love the magic system, the family secrets and how Snapdragon grows and changes over the course of the book.


Staff Pick Badge
A Wish in the Dark Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536204940
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 24th, 2020

I was so impressed by this middle grade adventure inspired by Les Miserables! The setting draws on many elements of Southeast Asian culture, especially Thailand and the strong friendships and suspenseful chase scenes will appeal to fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riordan. A great read aloud for the whole family! 


Staff Pick Badge
The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan Cover Image
By Sherry Thomas, Christina Chung (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781620148044
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tu Books - September 10th, 2019

Sherry Thomas once again proves her talent for creating unconventional historical heroines in this retelling of the ballad of Mulan. Trained as a warrior in preparation to fight the duel that is her family's legacy, Mulan joins the army as a man when China is threatened by an Rouran invasion from the North. Her martial arts skills gain her admittance to an elite spy team led by a princeling, but when she discovers her family has been keeping secrets about the duel and opposing family, she starts to question her choices. Lots of action and excellent details make this the perfect read for fans of adventure and historical fiction.


Staff Pick Badge
Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062941206
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - November 5th, 2019

Red and Chloe are my new favorite romance couple and I can't wait to read the next two books in the series about Chloe's sisters! The perfect feel good read with tons of humor and heart.


Staff Pick Badge
Ways to Make Sunshine (A Ryan Hart Novel #1) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547600564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 28th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Gods of Jade and Shadow Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525620778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - February 18th, 2020

A stunning fantasy road trip set in 1920's Mexico, perfect for fans of Spinning Silver and American Gods