You are here

Middle Grade Book Club Readers The VanderBeekers of 141st Street

Sunday, January 6, 2019 - 3:00pm
645 Pennsylvania Ave SE, Suite 100
Washington, DC 20003

Click here to join our email list!

Our Middle Reader's book club is specifically designed for readers between the ages of 8 and 11 years old.

Month's selection is The VanderBeekers of 141st Street by Karina Yan Glaser.


★ "Glaser's love for the Vanderbeekers shines through in her prose and stick drawings. Readers will look forward to future adventures. A highly recommended purchase for all middle grade collections." -- School Library Journal, starred review 

★ "Few [families] in children's literature are as engaging or amusing as the Vanderbeekers." -- Booklist, starred review 

..".[Karina Yan Glaser's] contemporary family narrative preserves the winsome tone and innocence of the aforementioned classics while updating them with a rich, modern diversity of characters, settings and problems....Glaser's warmhearted story highlights a cold truth: What is often missing in the busy lives of today's plugged-in, checked-out families is a sense of community. In the vast village of New York City, she suggests, what it takes to raise a child can still be found on one square block." -- The New York Times Book Review 

"A heartwarming story about family and community that will appeal to readers who also enjoy an old-fashioned feel." --Kirkus

"
With rich dialogue and detailed descriptions of the neighborhood, the text provides a humorous and heartwarming story about siblings uniting to save their home. Through the Vanderbeekers, Glaser provides a portrait of the splendors of Harlem and the sense of community that can be built among neighbors of all backgrounds. . . This will draw fans of rollicking family stories, and while it's centered on Christmas, it would be enjoyable any time of the year." --Bulletin

." .
 . Uplifting. . . Readers who enjoy a cheery story that's simultaneously old-fashioned and of the moment in its sensibility will enjoy this introduction to the Vanderbeekers and look forward to their future adventures." -- Publishers Weekly

"
Glaser's third-person narration weaves individual characters' plot threads and a palpable sense of place through the larger family story in the tradition of Jeanne Birdsall, Sydney Taylor, Elizabeth Enright, and Hilary McKay." -- Horn Book 

"The Vanderbeekers join the Melendys, the Cassons, and the 'All of a Kind' Family on my list of favorite book-families. I'm in love with every single Vanderbeeker! Their story is utterly enchanting: I did not want it to end. More, please?" 
--Linda Sue Park, Newbery medalist


 

 

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781328499219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018