You are here

THE POET X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Event date: 
Monday, April 16, 2018 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
East City Bookshop

RSVPs required for priority seating! RSVP on Facebook or at rsvp@eastcitybookshop.com.

This event is free for everyone. A copy of The Poet X must be purchased from East City Bookshop in order to join the post-event signing line. Books purchased at the shop at any time, including those purchased before the event or online, can be signed. 

--

Join East City Bookshop and Liz Acevedo, author Poet X (to be published March 6, 2018), for a reading and discussion. 

--

“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

“An incredibly potent debut.” —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

--

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, text and closeup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

--

RSVP on Facebook or at rsvp@eastcitybookshop.com

The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062662804
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - March 6th, 2018